Day 8 & 9 in Cuenca

Standard


Poor Scott caught a bad flu bug yesterday so sadly our exploration of Cuenca seems to be pretty much done for now. Today he is still down for the count and tomorrow we head back down to Guayaquil . He’s feeling a tiny bit better but still needs to stay close to the Banos. For lunch yesterday I just ate the remnants of our picnic but for dinner I decided to wander out on my own .

I was in search of some kind of soup for the patient. So I heard from some fellow travelers here at the inn that there is a restaurant about halfway up the dreaded stairs called The Wunderbar. So off I went ! I was attempting to talk with the bartender and find out if they have soup, I said ” sopa de pollo?”. She said see, see, no pollo but some other word I couldn’t begin to understand. And then she whips out her smart phone and uses her translator app!!! Yippeee! Thank god for technology even up here in the Andes!!!! The soup of the day was veggie , not ideal, but better than nothing. I ordered the soup for the sicky and spaghetti with meat sauce for me. she gave me a glass of wine and I sat outside to relax and wait for our dinner. While I sat outside I was contemplating how glad I was to be able to wander out by myself and feel safe. Granted, I didn’t wander far, but even had I decided to huff&puff my way up the rest of the stairs into the old town, I don’t think I would have felt any different. Although, I will be so happy when I can speak Spanish! I love to connect with people and not being able to do that just kills me!

 

 

I’m glad we got the opportunity to explore this wonderful city and the countryside beyond . There are many great things about Ecuador and Cuenca is a city I will visit again. I would love to explore more areas of this friendly country. As Scott and I talk, debate, and analyze the decision of where to make our new home, we seem to agree that Boquete feels most like the place for us. I haven’t yet spent much time in this blog, (since I just started it), describing Boquete, Panama. Many of you know that we’ve spent about a month in total exploring most of Panama by car. I don’t want to make this post too long so I wont get into a great description of Boquete yet. More to come on that:)

 

For now , I’ll say, it feels good to have spent so much time and energy researching and exploring so much about this very big, life changing decision. This upcoming year will be very busy getting ready to make it happen . The process of leaving our country and obtaining permanent residency in another one is daunting. And deciding what personal belongings to get rid of and what to bring will be a whole other challenge. Saying “good-bye!”, to my collection of Hollyween decorations! There are no words to express how hard it’s going to be to move away from all the people we love. But in spite of all the challenges that come with this adventure, we are really, really excited to face it all together! Soooooooo, Let The Adventure “Continue!”

 

 

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

6 responses »

  1. Oh, Holly….I have soooooooooo enjoyed your posts and photos of Cuenca …thank you, thank you for sharing….will look forward to more from your next stop. Sure hope Scot feels better–what a bummer on your last day or so there. By the way, what an idyllic setting for your picnic the other day. Lovely !! More later. Hugs, J.

  2. Hello Holly and Scott
    Are you returning at all? and when? I am having a party – either the 15 or 22 of July. I do hope you are back. Jason does some of the cooking and will bring the beer.
    Have fun and no more colds for Scott. Love to read about your adventures.
    Hugs – Chris

  3. Hi Sunshine I am so sorry Scott feels so bad, hope he is feeling better soon ๐Ÿ™‚ I am looking forward to hearing about Boquete, Panama. I know in a month you guys had a lot of interaction with the locals there. I am looking forward to hearing about that in comparison with Cuenca. I really do not even you both in making a decision on which place your true adventure in moving well began.
    Love you both, Mom xxoo

Leave a Reply

