Aside

20120714-203123.jpg

We’ve accumulated lots of “stuff” in our lifetime ! As I take a mental inventory of the stuff that I have , do-dads, nick-nacks, clothes, shoes, pictures, electronics, yard decor, tons of dishes , just to list a few things that come to mind. I have 6 different sets of dishes! Omg! Fall dishes, spring dishes, holiday dishes, summer dishes……really, come on! How did I get soooo many sets of dishes? I have more candle holders than any one person should reasonably own in one lifetime ! I do love candles! And I can’t even begin to think about what’s up in my attic and in my basement!

I betcha there’s a few Hollyween decorations! Everyone knows about my Hollyween addiction! Seriously! I’m surprised my loved ones never staged an intervention to stop the insanity! Since we’re talking about Hollyween…… It goes without saying( but I’ll say it anyways!) I have an enormous collection !! Anyone who has attended my Hollyween Extravaganza’s knows firsthand !! When it comes to hosting a party, I got it down! (A Hollyween party that is! ) I’m not sure how many chaffing dishes and wine glasses I own for those huge Hollyween parties!!!

All this is on my mind for obvious reasons. In the very near future Me and Scott are going to have to make a lot of very difficult decisions about all our worldly possessions . What to get rid of, sell, give away, donate, and what to take with us to Panama. Our plan is to ship a 40 foot container to our new home so our worldly possessions will have to be dwindled down to fit in that limited space, Yikes! It may sound as though this will be a sad and torturous endeavor, and I would never say its easy, but I’m choosing to view it as an opportunity to streamline my life. There is something very freeing about cleaning out your life and sorting through your stuff. . For those of you who are pack-rats, getting rid of most of your “stuff” might be painful, but lucky for me, I’m not hugely , deeply attached to having lots of “stuff”. Don’t get me wrong, I do LOVE my iPad and my Kindle, but I’m kinda excited to ditch the Hollyween collection and possibly one or two sets of dishes. Candle holders? Hmmmmm…… I’ll have to think about that! Lol!
When we discuss what we are shipping in the container it seems to mostly come down to the Pool Table, Kayak,Camping gear(gotta bring all the fun stuff!) , Scott’s tools, most of our kitchen stuff (gotta keep that man cookin’!), our bed, all electronics ( tv’s, computer, stereo , washer/dryer), Scott’s Viking BBQ( of course!) , and of course clothes. I’m in the process of scanning all my photos, a very tedious, time consuming job. But that way I won’t have to worry about transporting dozens of albums. The majority of our 40ft container will probably be taken up by Scott’s tools. If we were to replace them when we got there they would cost 2-3 times as much because of import taxes . So since woodworking is a major hobby for Scott and he hopes to spend more of his time pursuing that hobby, bringing the tools is a must.
You may have noticed that the list of belongings we plan to bring doesn’t include much in the way of furniture ! That’s because furniture has just never been a big priority for us. Oh, we have a comfy bed,and a decent dining room set, but we’ve never bought a dresser or really any bedroom furniture at all. Most of our family room furniture has been second hand. The one piece of furniture, so to speak that we have bought is our custom made Pool table. We love that thing! Several years ago we designed it and had it custom made. I think because both Scott and I enjoy entertaining and opening our home up for others to enjoy, having activities like playing pool , darts or ping pong is something that makes us both happy. We hope to continue entertaining in our new home, so we’ll just have to bring the fun along with us! And we’re pretty sure they sell couches and bedroom furniture in Panama! Lol! Of course Scott has plenty of tools so don’t be surprised to read a future blog about our custom made furniture someday! Ha!
As I contemplate the subject of material possessions I find myself looking forward to a change in my way of thinking. I think growing up in a culture of consumers we have a hard time distinguishing between “needs” and “wants”. I speak for myself when I say that I often don’t realize what a thin line there is between those two things. What do I really NEED and what do I just think I need but I really just WANT? This is a question that requires some serious contemplation . I mean, I obviously know what basic everyday human needs are, (like an iPad !) ha!ha! 😝 But seriously , re-evaluating this part of my life and learning to live more simply is a big part of what I’m looking forward to about this journey. So, you may want to keep an eye on Craig’s list cuz there’s gonna be a lot of Hollyween decorations for sale soon and you know you NEED that!!!

20120714-203204.jpg SEE……..Lots and Lots of candle holders!!!!! Jeez!!

20120714-203211.jpg

20120714-203217.jpg

20120714-203226.jpg

20120714-203240.jpg

20120714-203302.jpg

20120714-203254.jpg

20120714-203246.jpg

Thinking About All Our “Stuff”! πŸ“ΊπŸ“±πŸ’»πŸ“ β˜ŽπŸ“ΌπŸ“»πŸŽ₯πŸŽƒπŸ“·πŸ“€β›³πŸŽ±πŸ‘ πŸ‘—πŸ‘”πŸ‘™πŸ΄πŸš€πŸš²

8 responses »

  1. Now that ‘s a BIG job!!! I kind of envy you and that you are going to “need” to downsize your life’s goods!! When I retired, I said that I was going to do that–but haven’t done much—but if I needed to move and into a smaller place, than I think that would really “make” me do all the cleaning of cupboards, closets, etc. getting rid of stuff that is just sitting around and not being used,etc. And you are so right—determining the different between “want” and need” is a tuffy!! Good luck.

  2. Here’s a rule of thumb you might want to consider — If you haven’t used in the past year — OUT!
    I remember one time many years ago, when I moved from a boarding house into my first apartment. I packed EVERYthing into my car, including a small freezer. That was it.

  3. OMG! Holly I cannot imagine going through your STUFF (that what it is) and deciding what to do with what OMG! Well I guess you could make hope chess for Mariah with like dishes, a few candlesticks or so on and so forth πŸ™‚ She would be sit for life πŸ™‚ Onward and Upwards YOU can do it I know you can πŸ™‚

  4. We started purging by giving our daughter furniture for her apartment and selling off some of the old stuff she isn’t using now. Soon, she moves back home hopefully just for the summer. Then the stuff goes with her to her new place πŸ™‚ We don’t plan to take anything but a few suitcases. I just finished scanning my pictures and putting hard copies into organized photo boxes, throwing out a bunch of stupidly blurry, making no sense photos and saving the scanned pictures on flashdrives on external hard drive. My husband went through his photo albums and scanned perhaps 20 of them. His albums will just be left for my daughter the way they are, since he doesn’t seem as anal about organizing them as I do! What else is knew πŸ™‚ It is a long process but really cleansing in the end!

  5. As we consider retiring and moving to…a warmer place…purging stuff around us will be interesting. We have a few years of researching panama more, but I start to look at things around me with “new eyes”… What would I want to keep or leave behind….hmmmm.

    • Laura, Indeed, going through all our belongings was a very bittersweet job. But I must say, also somewhat freeing as well. If you guys end up making a move like this you too will have the pleasure (eye roll) of sifting through all you’ve accumulated in your life and decide what to take along and what to do away with, sigh. But I must say, I’ve never once looked back with regret for one thing, this move has been most wonderful and worth letting go of some silly material things. Cheers!

  6. Holly, Because our plan to move is a couple of years out I really needed this blog entry. I just downloaded the kindle version of The Joy of Less, A Minimalist Living Guide: How to Declutter, Organize, and Simplify Your Life by Francine Jay. So…step 1 read the book. Step 2 actually decluttering and deciding what goes in our container!

Leave a Reply

