Go Sharks!

Standard

20130206-075336.jpg

Last night was another ‘last’ for us, our last San Jose Sharks Hockey game . Our friend Marie has always very generously shared her season tickets with us when she can’t go. I just love going to the games! I love all the music and the hype, and the general camaraderie of cheering on your local team, its good fun. I also really enjoy the fact that when Marie shares her tickets she always gives us four tickets so we can invite friends to come along. Last night our good friends Jim and Cathy came with us , it was great to spend an evening with them. They can really relate to the transition we are about to dive into because they made a very similar move from Pennsylvania to California not too many years ago. Even though they didn’t leave the country it was still a huge life change . They sold nearly all their possessions , packed up their young son and drove out to California for a fresh new adventure. Sounds a little bit like the Beverley Hillbillies ! Only I don’t think they drove out here in a truck with Granny sitting on top,! Noooo Granny would have been strapped to the Viking stove on top of the BMW!! They wish they had found Oil in their yard but no such luck, at least not yet, maybe they should start digging just in case! Lol! Chances are all they would find in the dirt around here is an old iPhone or some kids discarded old ( last years version) iPod . No, I’m just kidding, There’s gotta be a PC somewhere in the yard! Ha!Ha! I really admire the courage and adventurous spirit it took for them to make such an enormous life altering change. They were lucky to have Cathy’s sister, Sandy ( also my very dear friend) already living here. I know it was helpful to have a family member to help acclimate during the early transition. I don’t have any family in Panama but I have connected with a few really friendly and supportive bloggers and other expats through this blog and from our past visits. Its great to know that once we get to Panama and get settled we have people we can contact who will share their experiences with us and help us acclimate to our new life. I seriously doubt we will ever see an ice hockey game in Panama but Im sure we will discover some other way to gather and enjoy a common interest with those in our new community. I know they have a fantastic Blues and Jazz festival in Boquete every year and plenty of parades and festivals to go to . As far as spectator sports, I’ll have to get back to you on that one, there;s probably no shortage of soccer games! For every ‘last’ we experience on this end of our adventure there will be a ‘first’ on the other side! I hold onto that knowledge and it softens the melancholy that comes along once in awhile. Sigh. But for now “Go Sharks!!”

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

