Movin’ Right Along…

Standard

20130210-220513.jpg

I mean “literally”, we are movin’ along with all the necessary steps needed to take to get this boat sailing ! Today, (Sunday, 2/10/13) was a very productive day. We decided to divide and conquer! After we managed to drag down a truck load of more donation things from the attic and loaded the truck ( load number 5, one or two more to go! ), I took off to our local Goodwill while Scott took off for his workshop in the backyard to Finish off the last coat of poly on the carcasses for the entertainment center. I then returned to the house and continued packing up clothes and odds and ends like artwork, and other various things that are still laying around the pool table area. We really need to clear out the area around the pool table so Scott can disassemble it and we can get it packed up in our storage unit. The stagers have decided that we will transform that area into a formal living room for the sale of the house. Im also getting ready to call my friend Charleen who owns a carpet cleaning business and get her to send her guys over to take away our four area rugs to clean them and pack them for shipping. But first the pool table needs to go in order to get to the rug below the table. So, as I was saying, after I got through packing more boxes, we loaded the truck again and made yet another trip to our storage unit to drop off all the boxes I got packed up today. whew!

We’ve also been keeping a close eye on the real estate market in our neighborhood so there were two open houses we needed to check out. There seems to be a very limited amount of inventory here so thats good news for us. Houses around our neighborhood seem to be selling pretty fast so we’re feeling very hopeful that our house won’t take too long to sell. I’ve never sold a house before so this process is completely new for me and I must say, Im feeling a bit nervous about the whole thing. Unlike Scott, who grew up with a mother who owned a very successful real estate business , he’s not a new-comer to the world of realtors and all the goodies that go along with listing a home for sale. I’ll be so glad to have this whole house selling process over with soon. But for now we have several interviews set up to interview realtors. This part is kinda hard for me because I know so many realtors and there’s just no way to talk to everyone of them. Im just gonna let Scott deal with this part and hopefully avoid offending or hurting feelings. Yuck! This part of the adventure is not so fun.

I feel like we have a pretty good handle on all the organizing of our household items to be shipped in the container as well as emptying the house of the majority of our personal possessions. There’s still much to do but we’ve made a massive dent and we’ll continue to move right along and little by little the house portion of this adventure will be behind us . Next up, finding temporary housing for a couple of months … deep breath! One thing at a time. For now, we are still working on completing all the details of the house and yard so that someone will fall in love with it and want to make it their home. Our goal for completing all this preparation is still March. Scott is hoping to be done with his interior work by the first week of March, then painters should begin interior and exterior painting, then stagers then if all goes as planned, for sale by the last week of March.

We still have much to do but as we work towards our goal we are mindful of the importance to maintain some semblance of balance. This means in between packing and prepping our life for our new Adventure, we want to spend as much time as we can with our friends and family. Not because we expect to never ever see them again but because we will miss them until we see them again. My daughter said something to me the other day that has stuck with me, she said, ” It’s not your ‘last’ unless you want it to be!” She was talking about the last post that I published about our last Sharks game . She thought I was being a bit ,’dramatic’, and I think she may have had a point. We are , after all, only an airplane ride away! I may be ‘feeling’ a bit dramatic at times, and we are embarking on a pretty dramatic life change, but I don’t want to let everything I love here become my last. Nope! I’ll attempt to refrain from too much drama, but gosh, I think I’m entitled to a tiny bit of drama, at least once in awhile, Pleeeease? We have a very Big Adventure pending and it’s scary, and exciting and filled with tons of unknowns and some losses and many many new things as well as a few very difficult changes so let’s all just attempt to Live, Love, and Laugh ( laughing is especially important ), and I’m pretty sure everyone will survive, who knows maybe even thrive! Hah! Life is good, sometimes a touch dramatic, but Good!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

3 responses »

  1. it’s very normal to cover all ranges of emotions and ‘what if’s when pondering a move to another country. it’s like holding up a frock and wondering if it will fit and suit your needs – you won’t know until you try it on. there’s no doubt in my mind that the two of you are going to be happy in your new life; panama is close enough to ‘home’ that you and your loved ones will find affordable air specials that help bridge those miles. skype, of course, is a wonderful tool for staying in contact, though sluggish internet service will make skype painful to use!!!!

    i suspect that your home will sell fast, and the two of you are very well prepared!

    i hope to fall out of the sky one day and check out your new life in panama! a dear friend lives there, and several new wordpress friends as well! z

    • Lisa, I am so great full for my new blogging community! Meeting you through my blog as well as so many other bloggers has been the most unexpected blessing ! Thank you for your words of encouragement ! Your comments , advice, encouragement are like beautiful flowers in my garden ! I have no doubt that one day our paths will cross, and I just can’t wait to give you a big hug! Cheers!

  2. You being DRAMATIC where in the world would you have ever gotten that from MMMMM 🙂 Not from Dad MMMM or not from me MMMM Wonder where that could have come from 🙂 Oh well sounds like Mariah has our number I mean your number 🙂

    Syd said something like that to me when I was crying saying “this is my last time coming to California” SNIFF SNIFF 😦 She looked at me with those big green eyes “Nana as long as we are here and as soon as Chris and I get a place to live you will always have a place to stay. So do not say this is your LAST TRIP to California.” Mariah has also said that same thing to me before 🙂 Out of the months of our children or in my case grandchildren 🙂 It is only the LAST TIME if we let it be 🙂

    You will find out just as I have you and Scott may be moving to start a new life & home in a new country, however as long as Mariah is in CA that will also be home 🙂

    You and Scott are moving ahead with so much to gain that this time next year you are going to look back on all of this and say WOW WE REALLY DID THIS TOGATHER and boy was it all worth it 🙂 LOVE Mom xxoo

Leave a Reply

