Who’s Cookin’ Dinner Tonight?

Standard

I’m usually pretty spoiled when it comes to dinnertime! Scott loves to cook so I don’t starve. I don’t actually think the possibility of me starving is actually why he likes to cook, but I must admit that from time to time I wonder how I survived without his cooking! Before Scott came into our lives I think Mariah and I just foraged for food. Most nights when I get home from work Scott has dinner ready to go or at least pretty close to ready. I usually try to help by assisting with chopping or hand him this or that or I follow him around cleaning while he’s cooking, of course there is the occasional evening when I plop myself down at the kitchen island and enjoy a glass of wine while I chat with the cook . For him, sharing at least one meal together each day is very important and I’m glad. It’s so nice to end the day together and chat about our day . It’s a nice tradition that I’m grateful he has always insisted on. So lately, my cook has not been so motivated to cook, I know, what’s up with that? huh? I’m so neglected! Well, I jest! We are both understandably distracted and exhausted by the whirlwind that is our life at the moment. Not only are we not especially prepared for our weekly meal plan, but we haven’t even had time and energy to get to the market to buy food! So we recently discovered Waiters on Wheels. Love that web sight! They deliver food from a large list of local restaurants. Last night we ordered from a Moroccan restaurant in Mountain View, Yum! We will try not to make it an every night occurrence but I must say, it’s quite convenient at the moment! I am planning to try to get to the market in the next day or so but we shall see how that well intentioned plan goes! One things for sure, we will not go hungry!

I have a feeling that our life has already taken on a much different flow from what we are accustomed to. I was just mentioning to Scott the other night that our days of cooking elaborate , gourmet meals in our beautiful kitchen could very well be over already. Scott will likely shed a tear for his Viking stove! Given the fact that we will be living in the house for only two more weeks and our agenda is so focused on working on the house till the wee hours of the evenings ,cooking and planning meals is naturally on the very bottom of our list of priorities. As a matter of fact I hate to admit this but we actually have frozen pizza sitting in our freezer for dinner tonight! Shocking! I know!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

6 responses »

  1. This is a big wonder that I have as well…what will the kitchen be like initially when we move AND what kind of meals will we decide to cook at first? We eat many salads during the week and some soup lately since cold (!) and trying to cut back due to two pending vacations. Ray really wanted to lose a few pounds, so our stove is hardly ever used. I will find it interesting if, when in Panama, I, too, lose the Lean Cuisine bloat like I read Clyde and Terry had (Alongthegringotrail) when they stopped eating the preservatives/sodium! It is my lunch fix, but since I won’t be working in Panama (and they cost $7!), I won’t want to ever see another one again!

    • Hi Allison…when are you moving to Panama and did you decide what area? We communicated trough my forum last time of your visit to Panama.

  2. MMMM so now you two are eating like the rest of us 🙂 Holly, you know how we have always been amazed by all those meals your honey fixes for you 🙂 It will start up again when you get to Panama 🙂 Hange in there 🙂 Love you Mom xxxooo

Leave a Reply

