What A Day Today Is!! Whew!

Standard

20130524-103814.jpg

Friday, May 24th,2013…
Look at all those cards!! Sigh …

Today may seem like just another ordinary day to you, but to me, it’s a very special, extremely bittersweet, and totally exciting! Today Is the last day of my thirty year career in the Hairstyling business. I got to the salon early , as usual, but today I cant help feeling sentimental as I prepare for my day. I just tossed my little color file box in the trash! I have two more colors to mix up today and that’s it! I’ve given all my clients their color formulas and Ive given Natalie and Elisabeth all the formulas as well. I have a short day today, I finish at 2;00 and then I must scurry around to accomplish many little details of our move. I’m glad I have a lot to do today after I’m done with work.

I have so many things tumbling around my head that I want to say about this day and about retiring from
a very satisfying and extremely successful career. I don’t mean Success in the traditional way that most people consider the definition to be. Some may think when I say success I mean that I see myself as having been the best stylist EVER or that I made lots and lots of money. I know I am very creative and talented and I have always strived to do the absolutely best job I could do, but Ive always been of the mindset that there is always someone more talented than me and there is always someone less talented than me. I have enjoyed practicing my chosen career as a collaboration between myself and each person who sat in my chair. But I must say that to me, my success is measured right this moment by the many many good wishes and cards , gifts and tears of sadness at my parting , the people who have said,”I Love You”, the hugs, soooo many hugs and kisses on the cheek!. My clients are my family and my friends. There is a mutual, deep love and admiration between us all. I’ve made lasting connections with so many people and I’m confident that even if I move away to begin my next adventure and I don’t get to see everyone on a regular basis, the connections never end. They will change and some may seem to fade but , go away? or end? NEVER!

So today is the last day of my career as a stylist! The last day I will make a living cutting and coloring hair. Tomorrow when I wake up I’ll still be the same Holly, but after 30 years of doing my job , going into the salon and making people happy (Most people anyways!) I believe I’m a better person, more confident , satisfied, and fulfilled . What a gift my job has been and I walk away today having received immeasurable gifts of generosity in the form of friendships that I take with me to Panama. Ahhhhh! Sweet Success!! Life is good! I’m a happy girl today! Tears will come and my heart aches, as I face this day. But the tears aren’t all sad, they are a mix of gratitude and reflection on all the amazing and wonderful experiences I get to take with me.

The sadness of leaving my dearest co-worker Natalie is an Ache in both our hearts that will need time to heal. She is a sister to me and to say I will miss seeing her everyday doesn’t even begin to describe the feeling we both have today. Boy oh boy! This isn’t easy!

Whew! Just got notice from the Title company , The money is in the bank! Holy crap! We’re homeless!! OMG! This is a very very big day! Tears are flowing all around me and This Adventure is really in full force now! Sooooo stay tuned, I’ll keep you posted on the progress of the Adventure. I gotta go take a deep breath and grab some kleenex! Gulp!

20130524-103832.jpg

20130524-103847.jpg

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

5 responses »

  1. Of course you’ll be missed! And so far as the ‘success’ department goes, I do remember this: after you gave me my first haircut, I came home and asked Amalie, “What do you think?” Her response? “Best haircut ever!” Of course I had to agree (even if you kept missing the part line).

  2. Holly, “184 Plaza South” has been an amazing “ADVENTURE” for you and all those many wonderful people you have made friends and family very fortunate in knowing and LOVING you over the past 30 years.

    Now it’s time for your “New Adventure” I admire your dedication to people you have interacted with at “184 Plaza South” over the past 30-yrs. They could not help but LOVE YOU! I know you they will be missed 😦 however I also know ALL of them admired your adventuress spirit 🙂

    Holly, as your Mom I am so very proud of what you have accomplished at “184 Plaza South” both in being an excellent hairstyling along with making so many people LOVE and TRUST your talent as a stylist and your truly caring about each one of them 🙂 Dad is in heaven today telling Glen THAT’S MY GIRL 🙂 🙂 (both are so proud of you)

    Love you so much 🙂 Mom, (you are in my prays today) Hang in there Sunshine xxoo 

  3. I see some sangria in the future! Embrace the day, enjoy the holiday weekend (or get those final things done!), and have a safe flight!

  4. Wow–it’s 2:10–you’re done!! or just onto the next step as this one is now finished!! When I saw the first card that you have at the top of this page I see that someone else gave you same card as I did–and a great bunch of cards you have. Oh Holly—-you are on your way to a wonderful new life. Enjoy, Enjoy, Enjoy—See you soon—Carolee

Leave a Reply

