I’ve been thinking…(yes, sometimes I do that!)

Standard

20130602-191829.jpg

I’ve been thinking about my blogging and about all my new friends that I love telling you about. If I were in their shoes I think I might be a little cautious about what I share with me for fear of the whole world hearing about all the gory details of my private life. I’m always trying to be a better blogger and I love to learn from others. I follow a local expat blogger here in Panama who I have noticed is very sensitive to the privacy of the people who she writes about. She seems to have quite a nice set of girlfriends in the town where she and her husband settled about a year ago. As I read her posts I notice she is very careful to maintain the anonymity of her friends when she writes about her get togethers with them from time to time. She is also very good about referring to her husband as SU (spousal unit) (Scott Loves This Idea) OOps did I just say “Scott”!? Well, it’s a bit too late for that change, don’t you think? Anyways, this town is very small and the expat community is relatively small as well. I am thinking it may be a good idea to consider changing the way I include others in my posts. When all my friends and family read this you don’t care about the actual names of the people here and I bet the new friends I make would appreciate my respectfully keeping them anonymous and the events of their personal lives as well. I wouldn’t want to become a pariah here in my new town , it would be awful to see people avoiding me for fear of becoming a character in my blog.

Yes, this may be something that is just common sense to most people and I must admit that I usually like to think of myself as a pretty intuitive person . But, I think given the fact that I am just not a hugely private individual myself, I don’t naturally restrain myself from sharing whatever is on my mind,( not much natural filter sometimes). I do , though, strive to respect other people and the boundaries they may have . So I am going to begin to practice restraint when sharing about other people in my life,(with the exception of Scott, LOL!) Ok…..I’ll try hard to give him that same regard as best I can! It’s not going to be easy though, I do so love to include any and all fun antidotes that I manage to involve him in. I can already tell you that my SU although a reluctant part of my blog, begrudgingly allows me to include him in my tales of Adventure as long as I don’t embellish too much.

I’m learning more and more about how important it is to be a responsible blogger and to honor an respect those in my life who I write about or include in my posts. This is a very public forum and I’m planning to keep that in mind as I share my life. After all, it’s “my” life I’m writing about, right. I just wanted to get this off my chest before I unintentionally offended someone, don’t worry, I haven’t committed any breaches of privacy yet, I’m just trying to preempt any disasters. Whew! I feel much better getting that off my chest! Now, back to the regularly scheduled program…. About that Adventure I was telling you about……

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

5 responses »

  1. LOL! Read your first post and then read this one. Small town living… One of the reasons you see a lot of the back of people’s heads and I use amigo/amiga or make up names. Actually, sometimes I ask people to chose their name!

  2. My SU, Ray, decided to be part of my blog. If this means he is part of the picture that is posted, his two contributions to writing in the past year and helping me with a title here and there, then I guess he is part of it, and so he shall be named. Who shall not be named was originally by daughter. But after quite a few posts, I decided I could write about her (and got the okay from her, also). I agree, make up names or get permission, but keep on writing about your adventure!

    • Thanks Allison!! I REALLY don’t want to offend anyone and I am feeling a bit nervous about my ability to be consistently tactful, but I’m up for the challenge and don’t plan to let it stop me from blogging about my experiences. I really appreciate your encouragement and I hope someday you will no longer be just a “Virtual” friend!! Hurry up and get out here!! LOL!

  3. I find it’s easiest to just ask. May I write about this? May I use your name? your photo? If I sense any hesitation I back off and change direction. If I happen to catch you in a photo as one of a crowd in public, like at a gringo meeting, I don’t worry about that so much. Or, if you write a blog post I figure that’s public and it’s OK to send someone else a link to read it. As a nurse privacy is a huge deal though, so maybe I also tend to be more cautious in general.

Leave a Reply

