I have a confession to make…

Standard

20130808-201545.jpg

Ok, I hope your sitting down ,because what I’m about to divulge about myself may shock and appall those sensitive souls who thought they knew me…..Ok, here it goes….I Hate to clean the kitchen immediately after eating dinner!! There! I’ve said it, now you know my dirty little secret!! Aside from the glorious year that my mother in Law lived with us,( a year of immediate post dinner kitchen cleanliness), I am naturally inclined to enjoy my dinner,( lovingly prepared for me by by adoring hubby), and then just toss all the dishes into the sink to sit until a much later time( I will admit…sometimes when I was working ten or twelve hour days, most of the week they waited, yikes!) . Yes, I have been known (only to myself, of course) to occasionally (Only occasionally mind you!) find mysterious things growing in the patiently waiting tableware sitting in the sink when I eventually get around to cleaning it. But come on, Really? Who enjoys getting up from a scrumptious meal ( son several glasses of red wine) and clean??? Not me! NOOOOOO I much prefer to procrastinate as long as possible, like until someone may come over and discover that I am a total slob! Or until we have run out of clean silverware or glasses. Then and only then would I clean it up. I know, shocking, huh?

You may be wondering why I’ve made this dirty little secret public? Well, because all that is behind me now. Yes, I do mourn those days of lounging about after dinner and putting off what I could do much much later. Why? you may ask, have I morphed into an “immediately cleaning the kitchen after dinner” gal? Well, it’s simple really….ANTS!!! Not your ordinary “city ants”, no! These ants come in HORDES!! And they somehow mysteriously know to come IMMEDIATELY!!!! Geesh!! And my hatred of all things “BUGS” overrides my love of lazing about right after dinner. I swear!!@#$? Those damn ants don’t even give me time to sit and finish my wine!!!( How RUDE!) And the worst thing is …..I have no dishwasher here!! man Oh man, am I screwed! And not even a garbage disposal either…..HUMPH! And Scott and I have an agreement that Is to me very fair, he cooks and I clean (this works for me). But when we lived in Los Altos and had a regular pest control company who faithfully kept our house bug free, I could just be as sloppy as I liked without being attacked by ten Bazillion little ants! Where do they come from??? I just don’t’ get it. One second they are not there and ( I do not exaggerate) the next second any teeny tiny morsel of any kind of food is totally COVERED in a multitude of ants!!! I’ve just never seen anything like it!!

Well, I felt as though I could share this little tid-bit with you because I am a transformed women. No longer am I guilty of being such a sloppy gal after dinner. I have those pesky ants to thank for providing me a reason for transforming into a grown up. Not only that, but did I mention I’m retired now?? yep…No more ten or twelve hour workdays, no more getting home totally drained and barely able to move. Nooooo I don’t suddenly love cleaning my kitchen…but I don’t mind nearly as much as before. Yes, I bet if it weren’t for those damn ants I would very likely still enjoy kicking back after dinner and ignoring all those dirty dishes in the sink for a few days or even all week, that’s honestly just me. I have never been , nor will I ever be much of a neat-freak. I love things to be clean but man, I just don’t’ love being the one to make it that way consistently. I used to be one to let it all pile up and then get to it later. Not now, no, now my tiny little kitchen sparkles immediately after dinner every single night. I know, you are just relieved beyond belief to know this… and your glad I told you to sit down before I broke the news to you, right? Shocking, I know. Mostly, I’m happy to report that our kitchen is ANT FREE!! THere will be no attacking my kitchen!!

20130808-201553.jpg

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

14 responses »

  1. I can’t stop laughing! Thanks for your confession. It’s a jungle in the tropics…so many bugs! Wait until you find geckos nesting inside your TV or millions of ants taking up residence in your surge protectors…or the best one yet, book lice in your Kindle. Yes! It’s true. We had an invasion of teeny weenie insects coming out of the charger hole in my Kindle. I Googled them and they were called book lice! Haha! Really! It’s a jungle and it always keeps you on your toes.

    • Noooooo! not my kindle!! Say it isnt so!! Geesh!!! I dread the post I will have to write when that happens!!! Humph!!! I may have to start storing my little kindle in a ziplock or something….

      • No Holly, don’t store your Kindle in a ziplock, or the cord. I had that unfortunate experience, keeping my charger cord in a ziplock bag…airtight. The white plastic around the cable totally flaked off and I was left with the bare wires. I’ve never seen anything like it. Now, I keep my new cord open to the air. Crazy!

  2. Great Minds think alike , I immediately thought Zip Lock.. but ants are more prolific in the tropics and you have found the answer Do not leave anything edible out. Also have spray handy and spray point of entry when they invade, my confession is that I do kill ants.. when they invade my space. However I tell them stay outside and you will live and these days they do … Good Luck

  3. haha, welcome to panama! we get ants in our 16th story highrise apartment… cockroaches too. we’ve found good traps for both at novey. little clear boxes in an orange package with borax inside for the little sugar ants – they go inside and bring pellets back to their nest and it kills them all. little black poison boxes for the roaches. we saw a lot of belly up roaches for a week or two but then no more! good luck!

  4. oh yes! ants discipline us into neat housekeepers! has anyone warned you about the army (?) ants that sweep thru an area and totally clean it as they march through? don’t fight them! don’t try to sweep them away. take your purse and grab your keys and go for a walk or a drive or a cold cervesa and return in an hour! by that time they will have moved elsewhere!

  5. OMG My Poor baby girl (HA, HA, HA, HA) I laughed so hard I almost wet myself reading this blog 🙂 🙂 🙂 I guess you are showing those rascally ants they are not WANTED IN YOUR KITCHEN 🙂 YOU GO GIRL 🙂 xxoo

  6. I’m guilty myself. Thank you for being so transparent. Great dinner, wine, and relax. I also worked 10-12 hours a day. Until… we put our house on the market and now it is “show ready” 97% of the time. Now I realize how much easier it is to keep the house clean than to tackle what overwhelms me. Of course it is much easier after loosing my position of almost 10 years. (That’s why the house is for sale) I used to love my position, but the pressure mounted until it almost killed me. Now, I am so much happier as someone close to broke than stressed with an income.

    I started following your blog when my husband and I were considering relocation to Panama. Bocas Del Toro to be specific. Now we’re leaning towards moving to the mountains in North Carolina from the Tampa Bay area of Florida. Luckily my husband and I are sharing our mid-life crises at the same time. However I’ve really enjoyed your writing.

    Sincerely,

    Stephanie T.

    • Hi Stephanie! We moved to David, Panama from Sarasota FL. Congrats on your new lower stress life, and best of luck to you. I hope your house does well on the market. NC mountains are beautiful!

  7. LOLOL Yes, life in Panama. I’ve never seen so many different kinds of ants – tiny ones, big ones, brown, black, leaf cutters, kitchen clean up crews, they are everywhere. My neighbor also told me about the hoards of ants that can come through the house that Zeebra mentioned. She said just leave, and when you come back they will have cleaned the whole house for you. I think you kind of have to like bugs to live in Panama because there are so many of them, an endless variety!

  8. If you want to gain a little time to enjoy your wine after dinner, keep on hand a spray bottle filled with equal parts water and white vinegar to repel your little intruders. Personally, I enjoy my wine much more when I sip while cleaning and then lob it into a chair to finish my glass of wine with a clean kitchen at my back!

  9. I am giving you free advice on how to get rid of tennie tiny ants that are so annoying.
    First, I want to say I have been getting the same problem as well, and I tried everything possible to stop this nonsense. Now I take care of this problem with PLEDGE MULI SURFACE.
    I spray on a cloth and clean up the area where I can see the nest, and continue throughout the entire area. It Worked for me. These pain in the Donkey ants are now away from me for a while.
    Try any oil substance, it works!

Leave a Reply

