A Panamanian Cold…

Standard

I don’t get sick very often. I’ve always attributed that fact, in part, to my job and the number of people I was always around all the time. I think my immunity was really strong against all those familiar germs in the States. But not anymore! Nope! I caught a cold and it’s still holding on to me , it’s been about ten days now!! I’m feeling a bit better each day but geesh, usually when I get a cold, which isn’t often it might take about 4 days to go away. Damn, this cold is just taking forever to completely clear up. I have a theory, who knows if I’m right about this, but I think the germs here in Panama are just different from the ones my immunity is used to. So, I’m taking it easy and trying to drink lot’s of water and eat healthy food. I’ll show this cold who’s boss, although I’m not feeling especially bossy at the moment, sniff, sniff…

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

10 responses »

  1. Just have to get acclimated. Perhaps it has to do with the rain, moistness, etc? I have read this on other blogs (sinus infection occurrences, colds) by those living in Boquete. Or you just have a good, old-fashion cold. Hope you feel better soon! Go heal at the beach πŸ™‚

  2. so find a guava tree – often called ‘guayava’ – and pick a handful of leaves.. simmer them in water for five to ten minutes… i add a touch of sugar and lemon. the tea works for dysentery, and i have seen it help many people who had bad reactions to ‘something they ate..’ high in vitamin c, it is also a desiccant, antispasmodic and an antibiotic. i assumed if it helped one’s stomach, it would also help w/nasal problems, sniff sniff.. when my friend was sick with the flu, she took lots of rx medicines as well as over the counter.. i got sick a few days later and used nothing but the guava tea = it worked for a few hours, and as soon as my nose started to ‘sniff sniff’ i drank more.. about two cups at a time…. i was sick for about four days, and she was sick almost two weeks.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Guava

    i am by no means a doctor or nurse but this is often used by the indians of central and south america. a cousin to that tree is the crape myrtle, and the american indians used those leaves for the same purpose…

    hope you get well soon.

    z

  3. Oooh, love Z’s home cure all. Will have to find a tree around here just in case. And knock on wood, have not been sick since we moved. I think Allison might be on to something, change of climate. Mind you we came from the dry prairies to living near the ocean. Hope you feel better soon. And listen to your mom! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

