My own Daily Prompt: My how my life has changed…

Standard

Daily Challenge….

Today (yesterday) was so much fun, I just have to write about it. One of my new friends came over and we had a “Hair Day”! What fun! She brought her box of color and I mixed up my color stash that I brought from home. We sat outside on my porch and just chatted away as we applied color to each other’s hair. To be honest, the hair part of the day was secondary to the “girl” part of the day. We talked and laughed and shared stories of our lives as our color was processing. It’s times liked these that make be reminisce about how much my life has changed. I used to do hair in exchange for money and these days the currency is a simple exchange of services along with a great afternoon of conversation. I’ve always enjoyed doing hair, my creative side gets much satisfaction from the pleasure of creating shape, color and design. In the past I also felt financial reward from doing hair. I paid my bills and afforded a certain lifestyle as a result of the money people were willing to pay me to do their hair, that was also satisfying. But far and away the most satisfaction at the end of each day was the conversations I had had with each person, the connections and the building of relationships that gave me the most profound and valuable reward. Yesterday reminded me of that feeling. To get together with someone you enjoy spending time with and exchanging a very personal service with one another is a great way to build a friendship. How many opportunities do we normally get to do something for a friend? And that Mutual exchange of ridding one another of gray hair, to me , feels very satisfying (of course I’m the one with they gray hair, she just colors her hair for fun! Humph!). I must add that the setting up here on my porch with the view of the mountains, the cool breeze rustling through the banana trees, and the birds chirping away seriously beats doing hair in any salon I’ve ever worked in! It’s worth the inconvenience of having to rinse our hair in the kitchen sink! I can’t help but think to myself, so often, “My how my life has changed!” As I Smile!!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

2 responses »

  1. Your life sure has changed! Imagine what it’s doing for your health — no more constant stress! One of the parts of my job that I love the most is being able to hang out with other women who love to do the same thing I do. We talk about our patients conditions and how to make them better, and we talk about our personal lives and how we can make ourselves better (or fix someone else’s problem!) Connecting with other people in this way, in the way you did yesterday, is so healing and wonderful!

Leave a Reply

