Lucky Dogs…

Standard

We were craving a good juicy steak for dinner tonight. Scott bought a beef tenderloin at Ray, the grocery store in David for $3.50lb. We baked a couple of potatoes, poured the wine and Scott seasoned the meat and threw it on the BBQ. MMMMMM. It looked pretty good and we were starving! Then before he even took them off of the grill he said, “I don’t know…they might be terrible” Huh? my response…”did you just say they might be terrible?” I thought he was joking, although that ‘s nothing to joke around about when the taters are bakin’ and the wine is poured! And truth be told, Scott doesn’t joke around when it comes to Steak! Well, you might have already figured out the sad, sad ending to this tale just based on the title…yep…It was terrible! RATS!!!! As Scott said, it was very flavorful (because he heavily seasoned it) shoe leather! As a matter of fact we’ve been debating weather or not it was actually STEAK??? Looked a bit like pork after it had been cooked but the pork here is actually pretty good and this was nothing remotely close to “Good”. Soooo as the title says….there are two very happy dogs at our house tonight! And we had delicious baked potatoes and wine!! What’s for desert????

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

5 responses »

  1. Oh dear! LOL I shouldn’t laugh, but welcome to Panama. It’s all free range grass fed beef, and they don’t believe in aging it either. If it’s not ground or pressure cooked for an hour or more, forget it. We do know of a guy in David that has acceptable beef. Let us know next time you are in town and we’ll take you there. http://findingmyselfinpanama.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/su-carne-the-place-to-buy-rib-eye-steak-in-david/

  2. Hey — that’s what we’re having for dinner! But at $19.98/lb it better be good! Those dogs of “yours” must be very, very well fed!

  3. I also bought a beef tenderloin at Rey in Chitre about 4 weeks ago. I cut it into 1 inch thick slices and then used my tenderizing tool that I brought with me to Panama. It looks like 3 rows of very sharp 1/8 inch wide prongs that you use to stab the meat. I did that several times on both sides while I rotated that meat, Then I froze it for a month. I just got a new Char-Broil Infrared Grill this past week and this was the first thing I cooked on it. The steaks came out with nice grill marks and were perfectly done medium rare. Cut nicely with a steak knife and were actually very tender. Bella our dog did not get any, she had to be content with her half of a raw cow leg. I actually like the pork tenderloins better that I have gotten in the past, but have not found any at any of local butchers lately.

  4. We had the same experience with steak. Don’t remember which one it was. It was horrible… But the next time we bought steak, we were able to get a rib eye steak called “costillon ” at Rey’s in David . It was very good and tender… The butcher was able to show me a chart with the cuts of meat on it in English and Spanish. It was very helpful..

Leave a Reply

