Daily Challenge…

Standard

Hmmm

Sometimes I just cant figure out how to use the daily prompt that word press supplies. This is one such day. So then I need to come up with my own subject and there are days when I just don’t know what to talk about…..Let’s see….. Last night we went to a fantastic gathering where we met a whole bunch of our neighbors who we had never had the pleasure of meeting before. Who knew we had so many nice people living practically right next door. One couple who were at the gathering I had met last week while I was waiting at the deli meat counter at Romero’s. They were a really friendly couple who told me they were visiting Boquete for the 5th or 6th time and trying to decide if they wanted to move here permenantly. They are from Northern California , like us, Berkley, I think. But they told me they lived in Alto Lino, which is where we live but I didn’t realize they live right next door! And we met several other couples who also live in Alto Lino, very nearby. Two of the ladies that I met like to go walking for exercise three days a week and I think after my school is over, in four more weeks, I may start to join them, that sounds fun to me. This gathering we went to was a potluck at our friends Manzar and Terry’s new house. Terry’s family was visiting and it was great to meet them. I can only imagine how Manzar and Terry must have enjoyed opening their home up to all their new friends and having a full house. I bet there were around twenty five or thirty people and the house accommodated all those people without even feeling crowded. And THE FOOD!! Holy cow…there was so much food! And GOOD food too! I don’t think I’ve ever attended a Potluck with so many really good dishes to choose from! No one left that party hungry, that’s for sure.

Before we moved, one of my biggest concerns about living in a new place was making new friends. All my friends and family kept telling me not to be so silly, “oh Holly, your so friendly, making friends wont be any problem!” Well, they were right, I’ve met so many great people. The other day, when I was at Romero’s, I was standing at the Deli counter and from across the store I heard “HOLLY!” and walking briskly towards me was this wonderfully friendly women I had met at my friends baby shower the week before! She speaks very little english but somehow we manage to understand the language of friendship without any problem at all. She came up to me with a big smile and gave me a kiss on both cheeks and a big friendly hug! It made me so happy! How great to hear your name called from the other side of the store…well, great to me, horrifying to Scott! Ha! I’ve mentioned before that this is the first time I’ve ever relocated to a new place. Before living here in Panama I only ever lived in California. It was a very big move for me and although I’m still getting acclimated to many things it seems like meeting new people and making new friends is just happening naturally. I can’t believe I ever worried one bit about that aspect of re-settling in a new place. If I had to worry about anything, who knew I should have been worrying about bats in my house?? Well, to be truthful, they haven’t been IN my house anymore but if I don’t keep Scott in the house in the early morning we’re gonna need some Advil!

I took a break from writing this post because we had a lunch date at that same new friends house who I met at the baby shower ,Veronica. She invited us and our other friends Valerie & Mark to her house for lunch today. What a lovely time we had! Veronica is an amazing hostess and she loves to cook. As a matter of fact she is passionate about so many different things , it makes your head spin! she has an art studio in her house and gave us all a tour of all the projects she has going on, and let me tell you…she’s got a bunch of beautiful artwork she’s working on. Her enthusiasm is contagious. She is married to a very nice man named Steve who we enjoyed getting to know. They have lived quite an adventurous life and have countless stories to share. I get so excited about the fact that I’m able to understand most of the conversation when Veronica is speaking only in Spanish! Just a few short months ago I would not have understood a word she said, so I must admit , it makes me feel rather accomplished to be able to enjoy such a great afternoon with such a beautiful new friend. Ahhhhh! This weekend I’ve gotten to spend time with so many new friends and I’m feelin’ pretty pleased right this moment.

And one last thing that I must share with my non-expat friends who I think may get a chuckle out of this…As we were leaving the house this afternoon to pick up Valerie & Mark, we were delayed because a big banana tree had fallen across our driveway! I always get a kick out of these silly little things that would never have happened in Los Altos. And the best part about it was the fact that my husband just happened to have his machete in the back of the car, cuz’ “EVERYONE” carries a machete, right? Ha!Ha!Ha! And let me tell you, he didn’t hesitate to jump outta the car to use that machete! Boys are so funny!! A couple of wacks and we were on our way….after we loaded the huge stock of bananas into the back of the car that is!! Ahhhhh life is an adventure and as long as the machete is in the back of the car, no problema!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

One response »

Leave a Reply

