Casita Progress…

Standard

20140412-111930.jpg

This morning I went up to the property to help Scott with the Electrical plan in the casita. We needed to decide on where all the light switches and plugs would go. Here’s where I get to do some actual helping, finally! I know, bringing lunch up there everyday is help, but this is much more fun! As you can see the walls are getting taller and taller and they are really beginning to look like rooms. Its interesting to see them chipping away at the concrete walls to make room for plumbing and electrical installation. Not quite the same as building with wood, huh? Scott’s really wishing he had his tools right now. He’s got lots of great grinders and things that would make the work so much faster and easier, but these guys seem pretty comfortable with a hammer and chisel. Watching them chip away, you can tell that they’ve done this many times before and are very experienced with this type of construction. Scott has his hands full trying to manage six guys who are all tackling different tasks. One guy, Ariquiles, was pounding metal rebar stakes into the dirt for something Scott had told him to do and he just couldn’t seem to do it right. Scott kept telling him no and to do it differently then finally after trying to tell him several times Scott just walked up there and did it himself. And others kept coming over to ask this and that…boy, Scott is really getting very good at this construction Spanish, that’s for sure! I don’t spend too much time at the construction site, I’m just in the way, walking around with my camera. When I am there while they are all working its very overwhelming, I gotta tell ya I really admire Scott for being able to manage such a huge project. He really is good at this. I already knew that, but normally when I’m there it’s lunch time and not much is going on. When all those guys are working the job site takes on quite a different feeling. Lot’s of hustling going on and each guy seems to have a task that they each are very intent on doing. So, here are the photos of the progress today….Tenga Fin De Semana!

20140412-111939.jpg

20140412-111955.jpg

20140412-112003.jpg

20140412-112011.jpg

20140412-112024.jpg

20140412-112041.jpg

20140412-112055.jpg

20140412-112106.jpg

20140412-112133.jpg

20140412-112151.jpg

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

9 responses »

    • Holly,
      We made it to Costa Rica!
      We will be near panamá on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday (20th), I think. I am using the hotel computer So can write sporadically. So close to Holly! I will get the exact details tomorrow – we just landed tonight.
      Ciao, bella!
      – Arwen, Om , and Shan

  1. Holly – you spell site different than sight.. Just had to tell you that you are doing a great job keeping us updated as to you’re progress. That Scott is really a talented guy. I bet he wishes he could have built the house with wood vs cement blocks. Also that site that you chose for the house looks like it is awful close to that bank of dirt behind it. I hope that it don’t fall into the house when it is the rainy season. Love your Blog. Jerry

  2. How fun to see the progress being made. I’m so glad it’s going so smoothly. I hope it continues that way fir you. It will be fun to see the finished casita.

Leave a Reply

