Here’s a lesson I’m Learning…

Standard

20140617-143339-52419254.jpg

As I’ve probably mentioned from time to time, this whole “domesticity” thing is new for me. So I’ve never been the “Laundress from Heaven”, far from it. I’ve ruined my fair share of clothes and Yes, Scott has occasionally had to live with pink underwear that some how ended up in the wrong load of colors. I personally think he looks very manly in Pink, but he’s not so sure! Pffffft! And shrinking things….can you see my eyes rolling now? Yes, I have a habit hence a dread now, of shrinking my clothes! Consequently I hate using the dryer and I almost always use cold water, except for Scott’s filthy work clothes…those need to be BOILED or maybe even tossed each night into the trash!! Hah! For all my clothes I mostly like to air dry them. So I hang my clothes wherever I can find a place to hang them. Here’s where my norma M.O. has run into a snag….it’s a bit more humid here than I’m used to. Gulp! Have you ever smelled mildewed clothes? Well, Um…I’ve got a little problem…My clothes all smell kinda…..Oh hell…. terrible! They just don’t dry nearly as fast as they did hanging in my bathroom in California. And apparently when you let wet clothes hang to dry for three or four days, well, lets just say, yuck! There’s no fresh clean smell commin’ from my freshly washed clothes, that’s for sure. I do believe I have a mildew problem. Sooooo back into the washer goes my laundry and a new plan has been put into action. I noticed a little rope hanging outside with some clothespins on it…Hmmmmm…could that be a better place to let my clean laundry hang to dry? Of course, its the rainy season up here in Boquete. And that means that everyday, usually anywhere between 2 to about 3ish, it rains like crazy! But the early part of the day is just as sunny and warm as can be. And theres always a nice breeze. Which means I’ve gotta keep a close eye on the weather outside. So today I’ve got my clothes drying outside but this means I need to be on top of it and make sure I grab them and bring them all inside soon, right now its 2:45 and I can see the sky beginning to get a little grey. Probably a good idea to go out there and see if my formerly smelly, mildewy clothes are dry. This has been my newest, and rather critical new housekeeping lesson…how to clean my clothes and not let them get mildewy. I got this! Humph! Learning something new everyday!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

5 responses »

  1. In the later years my Mom had a clothes dryer But she would hang the wash outside most of the time. I remember taking clothes off the line in the dead of Winter, clean But stiff as a board.

  2. Many of the homes we looked into for rentals had a washer but no dryer. “Dryers tend to heat up the house, and everyone just hangs their clothing” is what I have been told and read, but I never liked when my mom would hang up my clothing–stiff as a board definitely, and I don’t love that “fresh” smell. Besides with the rain and humidity, when does the clothing ever fully dry? lol I, too, like to hang a lot of things (sundresses, dressier shirts), so here’s hoping I come up with an inventive way to dry those things. Otherwise, things will come out of the dryer super tiny haha

  3. Just read the previous comments which I think partially answered the question I was going to ask which is —just check with some your expat friends and see how they handle the drying part of their wash day. My mom, too, hung clothes out to dry and so did I in some of the areas that we have lived. You’ll get the routine down in time, I’m sure of it. Seems that getting them in before the rain is the biggest issue!

Leave a Reply

