A Buen Dia! (I know its not correct but its how they say it here, humph!

Standard

To Have A “Buen Dia”….

What does it mean to you to have a good day, or as they say here..”Buen Dia”? To smile. To see my friends, To laugh with my friends, this makes every day good. A day is good when I know the people I love and care about are well. When I know my daughter, my mother, my sister, my friends, my sweet hubby are all well, this alone can make my day a good one.

Often my day is made very good just by seeing the beauty of nature that surrounds me. The view of the trees and the birds that live in them makes my day a good one. It makes me smile when I sit on my terrace and watch the hummingbirds furiously buzz around the feeders that I keep full of sweet sugary water just for them. They visit me all day beginning at daybreak until the dusk at the end of each day. At times there are only one or two at the feeders and then they seems to swarm and then all at once there are dozens of them fighting and posturing for the most food. They fight and chase one another, seemingly tumbling through the air down into the quebrata below. Watching these funny birds makes every day a buen dia.

Today is Sunday. It’s the one day we have no workers up here. I love our Sundays. They’re so peaceful and rejuvenating. We don’t set the alarm on Sundays. We get up when we want to, not when we have to. We usually try to have a nice breakfast and take our time sipping our coffee. Sundays are always a buen dia. Today Scott is sick. Our crew of workers have all had this nasty flu/cold all week long. Several of them missed multiple days of work this last week because of this nasty bug that went around. Now its the Jeffe’s turn to be sick and he’s really got it good….or bad? Well, he’s not having a buen dia today. But, he’s feeling very cared for, this is for certain. Our dear neighbor Kat made him a big batch of delicious homemade Chicken noodle soup! Can you believe that! This kind, caring gesture made this day muy bueno! I must have really good ‘neighbor karma’. I had the very best neighbor in California too.

For me in this moment, as I ponder what a buen dia means to me the first things that come to mind are the knowledge that my most cherished peeps are well…..this makes the top of my list. Then, not in any particular order of importance comes these spectacular hummers who I think are just as special as can be. They make me smile as I watch their antics at my feeders from morning until night. Gazing at the forest of trees that surround this little casita and the view of the volcano that looks down upon the peaceful little town of Boquete is a sight that always makes cada dia muy buena! And today could have been a bit less “Bueno” were it not for my sweet, caring and ever so generous neighbor Kat. She made Scott a big batch of homemade Chicken noodle soup. How lucky am I to have such a sweet neighbor? Seriously…. Maravillosa es mi vecina! And Hoy es un buen dia! Today is a good day….

Today, on this Buen Dia, I not only got the pleasure of gazing at the beauty of all this nature that surrounds me, watching my hummers gorge themselves at my feeders and receiving a wonderful gift of healing restorative soup from my sweet friend and neighbor for my sick hubby, but I got to spend time connecting with some good friends in the states via Face Time. Susan & John are moving here to Boquete in 40 days! We cant wait for them to be our neighbors. Its been so fun to hear about their preparation for their relocation. You might like to know that they just began to publish their own Blog about their move, here’s a link to it… http://www.thepazeras.wordpress.com Check it out. How fun to connect with them and to know that in a few short weeks we’ll be hanging out with them here in Boquete! This made my day!

And I must say, the best part of my day today, was getting to chat with my daughter on the phone for a bit. Hearing her voice always makes a Buen Dia!! I miss her so! We had arranged to Face Time but her phone wasn’t working quite right so we chatted via Magic Jack instead, which was just fine. I never tire of hearing all about her life. She’s such a busy young woman finding her place in the world and working so hard. Getting to spend a little time catching up with my girl is indeed the makings of a Buen dia! Another piece of my buen dia was chatting with my Mom and my Mother in Law Pat, via Imessaging on our iPhones and iPads. Its such a great way to instantly connect with these two women who mean so much to me. And just one more reason that today was, as I may have mentioned…A Buen Dia! hah!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

4 responses »

  1. Heyyy! It was wonderful to “see” you on Facetime and get the grand tour of your construction site. It’s going to be so spectacular when you’re done. And thanks so much for plugging our blog 🙂 This may be one of my favorite posts of yours (and not because you mentioned us!). I love how happy and at peace you seem there. We can’t wait to see you when get back from your trip in May and we promise we won’t drink up all the wine!
    Love you, chica.

  2. Hope Scott is feeling better. 😦 Poor Scott. But, it is a buen dia knowing that you have such loving and kind neighbors. Sundays are great aren’t they? Marina doesn’t clean our house making us look for a place to hide from her fast and furious mop, Alfonzo doesn’t rake and clean our yard, so we can sit outside in the early mornings in our PJs. I love Sunday morning the best.

  3. Hi Holly, Joel here- I send your posts to my Ma in Portland, Maine. She enjoys them immensely and wrote this to me today- thought you might like to see what she said………

    ” Holly’s continuously bubbling-over self brings delight to her readers and may help them face their days in a much more relaxed way. Born to uplift, she keeps skipping thru glorious daisy fields, smiling and tossing to one and all dainty pink-petaled gems spreading from golden centers. Gifted in endless ways, she is a unique poem in the making.
    Thank her delightful spirit”

Leave a Reply

