Day 3..Writing 101…

Standard

Day Three: Writing 101…

“Today’s Prompt: Write about the three most important songs in your life — what do they mean to you?

Nailing Brahms’ Hungarian Dance Number 5 on your alto sax. Making perfect pulled pork tacos. Drawing what you see. Or, writing a novel. Each requires that you make practice a habit.

Today, try free writing. To begin, empty your mind onto the page. Don’t censor yourself; don’t think. Just let go. Let the emotions or memories connected to your three songs carry you.”

Well, this has been a fun exercise! I tried not to censor myself or to think too much and will ya look at what came outta me, Humph! ….I took your advice and tried to just free form it and let my thoughts go without too much worry of spelling, grammar and whatnot…well, I actually came up with plenty of music that sparks memories and thoughts both fond and fun. My daughter would say , “cruel mom”…hah! Well..that was fun, thanks for the prompt WordPress!

Three favorite songs huh? Uh….well…ya see, I like music, I listen to music, but what are three of my favorite songs?? Ugh! Thats a really hard one for me. I’ve never been one to buy much music, as a matter of fact I may be one of the few people that has no music from iTunes at all! Nope, not any! I just don’t care that much. My husband is a music lover and always tries to quiz me when we’re driving and listening to music. A particular song will come on the radio, one he knows its a song I like and he’ll say , “Okay, Who’s this?” ….Blank stare….I have no idea! I just don’t really care that much who it is, all I care about is that I like it! Seriously, I’ve just never been much of a star-struck person.

Celebrities mean almost nothing to me. If I were to be in the same room with a celebrity I very likely would not even notice them. Its not that I don’t admire and appreciate the art that they practice and or perform, its just that ‘Who’ they are does not seem to make much of an impression on me. I do love the Rolling Stones and Oh, Mannnnn what’s his name….ugh….I can never remember names! Oh…Shit, I had to ask Scott…”Who’s that guy that I like?… you know… the one who sings Brown Eyed Girl?”…VAN MORRISON!! yea! I love him! I also like Santana! Oh, and who doesn’t like the Eagles? Gotta love them, right? The Beatles…When I start to think about what I like the names slowly come to me.

I do enjoy putting music on while I clean the house or help cook. Scott is the man in charge here at our house when it comes to all things cooking related. Cooking has just never been my forte. I love to help and I’m a mean soo-chef but I have zero desire to be in charge of the cooking! Some of our favorite times together is when we’re knee deep in ingredients and dishes as the music is playing and I switch between chopping, and cleaning and a little dancing and singing….and then more cleaning cuz’ I gotta tell ya, that guy is MESSY! Sheesh! Does he really need to use every single pot, pan and gadget in the kitchen??? Yes, I do believe he does! hah!

Well, Lucky for me Scott is very sweet about not making me listen to his favorite music, cuz’ ahem, that guy is a rocker at heart! Yep…if you knew my sweet man… this just may seem a little out of character for him. Being the quiet gentle man that he is, you would peg him more of a blues guy (which he also likes) or soft jazz…nope, its hard core, screaming rock and roll for him YUCK! I shouldnt sound so mean, he actually has a wide range of music that he enjoys, the heavy metal genre is just one that I cant take.

I may not be able to point to one specific genre or artist that I’d call my favorite but I sure can be specific about what I dislike and its heavy metal rock and roll! I am sorry to those of you who rock with my hubby, I mean no offense…but sheesh, lets turn on Van Morrison, and just bop around the kitchen to Brown eyed girl, k? hah! That kind of music makes me so happy, and honestly there is so much in this world that makes me sad that when I listen to music or watch a movie I just wanna escape all that and be light hearted and free.

Of course I bet those who enjoy the hard rock music may find that type of music to be relaxing or joyous? Well, more power to ya…Rock On! hah! But, if ya don’t mind, for me, I’m gonna get down in my kitchen with a bit of the Stones or How bout some Eagles! yessssss…..Welcome to the Hotel California…..Badadadaa….Lalalalalala…

Living in Panama, did I mention we live in the mountains of Western Panama? Well, we hear a lot of music living here! Especially during the months of November and December….Our property sits high above the town of Boquete and let me tell you, sound travels! It truly travels like I never really anticipated when we bought our land. But, before I go on let me just say that It may be loud but I love it! I may not love it if it were right next door, but hearing the loud ‘Boom Boom Boom’ of the music from up here I just smile. To me that loud music means that they’re having fun. The music to me is the sound of celebrating and in the Latin Culture they will find any ol’ excuse to celebrate!

A celebration just would not be complete without lots of loud music! It seems here in Panama they are particularly fond of drums! Yep, drums. And parades with endless drummers is a specialty around here. Every kid in this area must play the drums! And my non-musical ear may be mistaken, but It sounds awfully like the exact same drum beat over and over and over repeatedly with no variation at all. Ahem…,but I could just be tone deaf? who knows? But , again, they do the drumming with such glee and march in the parades playing those darn drums with the biggest happiest smiles on their faces….you gotta love it! And I must mention the very impressive twirling of the drumsticks that goes along with the drumming and marching! We’re talkin’ advanced twirling! Those kids really must practice that twirl all year long!

Since living here I must say, we’ve been surrounded by so much wonderful music, and celebrating with fire works and no end to parties and holidays. It makes me just as happy to hear that drumming as it does when I hear Van Morrison play… Brown Eyed Girl! Oh…and Bob Marley! I love him too…We’re Jammin’…lalalalal Jammin’ You know that one, right? Who doesnt smile when they hear Bob Marley? That song brings to mind my very first visit to Costa Rica with a good friend. It was , oh my gosh, how many years ago? Um, maybe about 18 years ago now? Yes, It was way before Costa Rica became so touristy. And it was the trip when I first discovered how much I loved being out in nature and camping and all that great ‘outdoorsy’ stuff.

One instance on that trip that stands out…well, several instances stand out but the one that relates to Bob Marley is when we were traveling around and stopped at a ocean side bar/restaurant place, it was in a very remote place, it had a thatched roof, wooden deck, very rustic. I was once again blown away by how rustic yet spectacularly beautiful this place was. We ordered food and drinks, we were with a group of really fun people. Music was playing…one gal who was in our group was from Germany, Andrea, she was really great, we had become fast friends…and I’ll never forget when suddenly Bob Marley started playing and she began to sing and dance…she new all the words and her face was so blissful…for some reason I always think of Andrea dancing and singing when I hear Bob Marley. Andrea, and that place on the ocean with the thatched roof and my newfound love of nature and travel.

It seemed as though my eyes had newly opened and I had discovered a love for travel and for new and exciting adventures. I never could have guessed that I would find myself living in Central America all these years later! hah! “Lalalalal I’m just a Buffalo Soldier, In the heart of America…Stolen from Africa…brought to America…” What a memory…and that song brings it to the forefront of my mind every time!

Okay….as I’m writing and thinking about different songs that bring memories to mind…I’m hesitant to admit to this one…its one that makes me laugh when I think of it…its a song that Scott and I like to call Our Daughters Theme song….To her utter dismay and horror we often sang this song to her when she was entering into those dreaded ‘Teen Years”….(cue the scary music….) We would be in the car with a sulking pre-teen sitting in the back seat, angry once again that we were making her do something fun with us and what song would conveniently come on the radio? Yep, The good ol’ Stones….”You Can’t Always Get Whatcha Waaaaaant…But If you try real hard….you just might find….ya get whaaaatcha neeeeeeed!”…Oh yeah! I can hear her right now…”Stop it!” As Scott and I serenaded her with her theme song! To this day, she is nearly 23 years old and she still doesn’t appreciate that particular song…but she does begrudgingly laugh along with us at the memory of those torturous car rides.

Okay….here’s another one! sheesh! How did this happen, I thought I had nothing to write about music, but they just keep coming! This one is from my good ol’ teen years…Johnna, Jackie and Kelly, do you also share this memory of driving in Johnna’s VW Bug with Cindy Lauper blasting!! “Girls just wanna have fun…Ohhhh Girls… they just wanna… they Just wanna… they just wanna ! Girls just wanna have fu-un”? Driving over highway 17, going to the beach…windows rolled down so everyone could hear us all singing along with Cindy! We most certainly had on our different colored fake Varnay sunglasses and our plaid shorts with multi-colored bangle bracelets on and we thought we were so totally happenen’..hah…cuz’ well…we were!

Those were the days…which brings me to the silly song that has invaded my head lately…to my husbands utter dismay and horror (maybe a few friends too!)…I have no idea who sings this song….but, just a sec, let me Google it…Mary Hopkin..Huh? okay…well I have no idea who she is, but this song is stuck in my head….it goes like this..”Those were the days my friends, we thought they’d never end, we’d sing and dance forever and a day…we lived the life we’d choose….we’d fight and never lose….those were the days, oh Yes, those were the days…lalalalalalalalalalalal…” This must have been a song my parents listened to, I have no idea how I know it, but I cant seem to get it outa my head! Well, will ya look at me…my heart kinda dropped when I read this prompt, cuz’ I’m sooooo not a music person…so I thought! I had no idea how much would come to me if I just let myself start typing. I’m very impressed with myself right now and I can hardly wait to go back and edit my random thoughts…(nay, on second thought, I’m just gonna push that publish button and not edit…let’s see how that goes!)

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

3 responses »

  1. I enjoyed your spontaneity in your blog. It also reminds me of eagles hotel California I love that song and also Santana’s guitar is melodious 👍

  2. Fantastic job, Holly, no editing needed 🙂 It is as if you were sitting down having a conversation with us because it just flowed. Music is certainly a part of life and I believe has a deep vibrational quality that will resonate with you and that is why there is so many different kinds of music. We’ve spent time in Jamaica and love Bob Marley, actually all the Marley brothers’ music…I’ve got lots of reggae on my MP3 player, lol. Well done!

  3. I remember your fondness for “Gypsies, Tramps and Thieves” too!! Any my brother would appreciate your Cyndi Lauper reference. 🙂

Leave a Reply

