Day 5…Writing 101

Standard

Today’s Prompt: You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible….yeah, right…eye roll! hah!

What’s that? It looks like a white envelope. Right over there, under that tree where the Resplendent Quetzal is peeking out of it’s nest. My what bright, beautiful colors that Quetzal has…strange, it seems to be looking right at me…

See it? Can you see the envelope? Oh come on…you can’t miss that bright white paper that stands out so vividly amongst all the brown of the leaves and the lush green ferns. It clearly doesn’t belong there. Here, use my binoculars. Now can you see it? I don’t know how you can possibly miss something so clearly out of place here in the lush, green vegetation of the jungle.

What? Oh, Yes, I see that Blue Morpho Butterfly fluttering by… Yes, Its an incredible butterfly, I know! But do you see that envelope way over there? What? Oh, lets see….where did you see the monkey? Gasp! Ohhhh He grabbed the envelope! Hah!

Yes! He really did! Wait! The envelope…I think… it has …my name on it! Holy shit! It does! It has my name on it…how weird! This can’t be happening… Okay, here look again through my binoculars…he’s jumped over there, see him? In that big Cecropia tree, no, not that one….the one near the river.

What’s he doing now? I can barely see him, he’s climbed so hight up in the tree. Is there another monkey up there? No? Well, what is it? Huh? ……A Sloth??? Let’s get closer….. Give me the binoculars. Look out for that big creamy colored mushroom, don’t step on it! Isn’t it amazing! Gasp! Look at that iguana! I think its looking right at me….and doesn’t seem scared at all. Kinda creepy…

Oh, my…Doesn’t is seem like as we get nearer to the Cecropia tree there’s more and more of those Blue Morpho Butterflies fluttering all around? Huh…I’ve never seen so many in one place before. Don’t loose the monkey. Do you still see him? Where’d he go?……Oh! There he is….wait….what? Does the Sloth have the envelope now? I can clearly see Holly Carter written on the envelope….hah!

Why is this happening? I don’t get it. How on earth could a random white envelope with my name on it end up in the middle of the jungle in the hands of a howler monkey who has clearly handed it off to a sloth sitting in a huge Cecropia tree? And what’s in that envelope? And, why are these butterflies swarming us? Sheesh!

Did you see it too? You did, right? You saw my name on that envelope, right? I’m not crazy, am I? Haha! Well…now that we’ve gotten closer I can clearly see it, and the sloth seems to be intently looking at the monkey, almost as if to say,”Whats this?”. Since when did Howler monkeys and Sloths socialize this way? I don’t think they normally behave this way…ugh! I mean I’m not a pro on monkey and sloth behavior, but do you think this is ‘normal’?

These Blue Morpho’s are kinda annoying…flying all around us like this…shoo! Get outa here butterflies! ugh! Pfffffft! I feel like they’re kinda attacking us…The attack of the killer Blue Morpho’s! hah! Let’s just move over there…wait? Oh my gosh! That iguana is behind us, is he following us? Naw…can’t be. Creepy!

Um, I’m gonna stand on the big log over there…Okay, let me see those binoculars, what’s the sloth gonna do with that envelope?…….huh? What? No Way! The sloth is gonna open it…she’s trying to open the envelope that has my name on it! A sloth cant possibly even know to ‘open’ an envelope…can it? Well, this sloth seems to know that there’s something inside, and she clearly wants to see what it is….

She did it…she actually opened the envelope…and…no..
way….is she?…gulp…Look! Look! Are you seeing this?? Gasp! Shit! I can’t believe this! Oh my God! The sloth looks like she’s reading the letter inside the envelope…this is just unbelievable!

She’s smiling…..and….now she’s looking at me with a huge crazy grin on her little sloth face…

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

