Mission Accomplished…We Have Granite!

Standard

image
Lito is THE MAN! The truck driver who agreed to drive to Panama City to pick up our ten slabs of granite and bring them to our property in Jaramillo Centro in Boquete is a man of his word. It’s hard to find those types of men..you know, the ones who do what they say they will do, when they say they will do it! But this man is such a person and I feel so grateful and lucky to have met him. The plan was for Scott to fly to PC on Sunday night, and meet Lito at the warehouse at 8:00am on Monday morning. Lito was there at 7:30 a.m.! Scott helped them to load and secure the ten slabs into the truck. Lito said he would be at our house on Tuesday morning at 7:00am….he was here this morning at 6:30am! Gasp! I love this guy!

We knew that Lito’s truck would need a little help getting up our steep hill with all that weight in it so Scott drove to the bottom of our hill with a big long chain to attach his little truck to the big one. With a little help from Scotts trusty little pick-up Lito and our granite made it to the top , no problema! Then I had to go down to town to pick up our guys who would be the muscle to get those giant slabs out of the truck and onto the terrace of our new house. This task was completed with no casualties! yeah! It made me so nervous to watch this display of strength and agility that I had to come down to the casita and do my Spanish homework! Next up this morning….repairing the steel on the back of his truck that we took off and making it good as new! Ricardo is up there right now welding away as Lito and his buddy relax and look on.

And you may be wondering what on earth Scott is planning to do with ten huge slabs of granite? Well…fabricate countertops, of course! Has he done granite fabrication before? Pfffffffft….No! But why would that stop him? hah! A common conversation between me and my hubby goes something like this..”Scott, do you know how to do this?”…Scott says, (as he shrugs his shoulders)”Yes.”…I then say “How do you know how to do this?”…to this question I have asked a million times Scott says with endless patience,”Osmosis.” In typical Scott fashion he then proceeds to do whatever it may be that he’s decided he will do, and he will do it with confidence and it will turn out great! (shaking my head in amazement at his unending desire to learn and do new things!)


Once upon a time I had a beautiful outdoor terrace, just right for relaxing with a glass of wine and taking in the glorious views of Boquete. Screeeeeeeech…….that nice terrace has suddenly been transformed into a granite fabrication workshop! Ugh! Need I say….”Eye roll”! Scott and Ricardo welded up a sturdy steel worktable for the slabs and secured it to the floor of the terrace for stability as well as racks to hold them upright as they wait to be turned into countertops. He’s got all the necessary tools for grinding, cutting and polishing and who knows when I’ll have my terrace back! But…I’ll have some beautiful custom fabricated bathroom and kitchen countertops that I have no doubt will make all this worth it in the end. And as I admire my beautiful counters I’ll also be feeling incredibly proud of my husbands ability to make things happen even if I have to sacrifice my terrace for a little while.
The table for doing the granite fabrication...

The table for doing the granite fabrication…


image
I know what your thinking…..”Doesn’t Scott have a 2000 square foot workshop right outside your house?” And the answer would be “Why Yes, he does”. That nice big workshop is currently filled to near bursting with wood and with an assortment of woodworking tools! He barely has room in that darn workshop for working on wood, much less fabricating huge slabs of granite! So, my terrace will be the granite workshop for now. Yes, I know what your thinking…”Holly, your a saint!”….I’ve heard this before and you could be right. One thing Scott and I seem to have in common, is endless patience and lots of Tranquilo! Will this Adventure ever calm down? I somehow doubt it! Hahahahahahah!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

8 responses »

  1. Woo Hoo, excellent story…typical Scott. BTW, I LOVE the driveway. That is a work of art. Nice pour. I know – its seems like a strange thing to get excited about, but there it is. It twists my nickers.
    Lets call Scott “O” man…as in “Oh man, nice job!”, “Oh man, would you like another margarita?”, “Oh man, wheres the beef?”, “Oh man, whats for dinner?”, “Oh Man, nice counter!”….Osmosis, Osmosis, Osmosis Man….love you guys – Just Holly by Golly

  2. Scott’s grandfather was the same way. He had to leave school at 13 to earn a living but he never let that stop him. He could always figure anything out that was worth doing. Same easy spirit as Scoot

  3. Heavens you must be in heaven, a great driveway, electricity and now granite counter tops. Will the wonders of modern living never stop. Congratulations you two on an excellent adventure.

Leave a Reply

