This n That…

Standard

relaxing on the terrace, enjoying the time before the beetles come out!

relaxing on the terrace, enjoying the time before the beetles come out!


Did I mention how happy I am to be finally living in our new house? I did? Well, okay…then, did I mention how noisy and dusty and hectic it is living here in our new house? Well, let me tell you a little bit about living in a partially finished structure…well…okay…”house”! So….where to begin…first, before you get it in your head that I’m complaining, I’ll just say right off…shut up! I’m not complaining, just ‘sayin’! It’s friggin’ dusty and not just the normal, everyday kind of dust….this is really DIRT! And its in everything! Everywhere! Every nook & cranny, get the idea? I mean, its not really any good getting out the pledge and dusting anything, cuz’ that just moves it around and creates even more dust! Heaven forbid you should pick something up and try to shake it out! Hah! And, if you ever find yourself living in a not-so-completed house, don’t ever drop something, like a little fabric footstool that sits in front of a chair for instance, because this creates a dust storm to rival any dust storm you may have seen outside in say, a dirt field! Oh! this reminds me…. we were having lunch with Bond & Luana the other day, there was a field up on a hill that we could all see from our table and suddenly we saw a little mini dust tornado running down the field. I could not help but quietly think to myself…“huh…that reminds me of my living room”! 🙂 So, needless to say my sweet little cleaning lady, Daisy, who I was paying to clean the casita when we were living down there,( as much as I loved having the help), I’m not having her clean up here quite yet. What’s the use? I just gotta embrace the dirt right now…sigh…


So, I think I’ve made my stance pretty clear regarding my extreme dislike of the thick layers of dirt that I’m currently living with. As you can imagine, at this moment I’m absolutely overjoyed to be living in this wonderful new house that we’ve worked so hard to build. In spite of the minor inconvenience of a little dirt I’m just thrilled to be here! But, in my effort to share the whole story… the other little inconvenience that I’m about to vent about is about critters…you remember how I feel about those, right? In case you forgot, I will remind you that I really, really dislike, greatly ,anything that crawls around the floor, up the walls and could possibly crawl on me while I’m sleeping ugh! I strongly believe such critters should be outside! So, in order to prevent any whimpy behavior from me as a result of such critters coming into my vicinity, (I really hate to scream for Scott while I sit on the toilet and a huge, gigantic spider slowly crawls towards me while I’m in a very compromised position!) , I made sure to buy some lovely poison that was recommended to me by other haters of critters. Cyber 40! I bought a big fancy back-pack sprayer, filled it up with the proper mixture of poison and water and kindly handed it over to my gardener with instructions to spray this nasty poison all over the perimeter of the house, and what the heck, since we were not moved in yet I had him spray inside as well! This seems to have ‘mostly’ done the trick. But…ahem…as luck would have it upon Pat’s arrival to our lovely new home I walked her into her beautiful bedroom, as I was showing her the bathroom, she pointed to something on the wall, she said..”What’s that?”…I turned around and looked on the wall behind me and there was a gosh darn Scorpion!! Ugh!!! Right on the wall behind my head!!! : !?#$….That particular critter went to critter heaven rather quickly!

I think we may have carried a few scorpions into the house with all the boxes we moved from our storage place. And, we have many outside openings to our house that are not especially , ahem…shall we say…critter proof! Scott has made an effort to critter proof as well and he can, but its not easy to completely seal plywood covering the three enormous openings that will someday be glass sliding doors onto the terrace. He sprayed a bunch of that expanding foam stuff all around the perimeters of the plywood but I think some sneaky guys can still squeeze in! And since Scott has plans to make beautiful exterior doors we also have temporary doors to the outside which have big gaps at the bottom of the doors! He had the guys apply these metal things at the bottom, kinda weather proofing doohickies…but, ahem…I am skeptical of the efficiency of these things! The front door has a huge gap , about two inches, which I am covering with a towel at night to avoid any big , nasty critters like snakes or tarantulas from making themselves at home in my house!!!! I gotta tell ya Pat has been wayyyyyy more of a trooper about the bugs than I ever imagined her to be! One night she got up to use the bathroom and as she sat on the toilet she saw a huge spider laying on the shower bath mat right in front of her. She thought it was dead and began to pick it up to throw it in the trash, she changed her mind and decided to use a piece of toilet paper to pick it up and thank goodness she did! When she had it in her fingers it began to wiggle! She didn’t even Scream!! She just tossed him in the toilet and flushed it quickly!!! Whatawoman!!!!!

We’ve noticed that different times of the year brings out various different insects. Just so happens this time of year is the time for Beatles! Big Beatles! The type that come out at night and dive bomb you while your trying to enjoy the brand new terrace at your new house! Seems they start the diving at around 6:30-7:00pm. And attempting to enjoy a lovely dinner while this nightly invasion is going on is not especially pleasant! One nice thing is that we really don’t have mosquitos to speak of, which is really great! Occasionally, during coffee harvests we get the coffee flies which are nasty, but at least this isnt a regular visitor. I think my biggest gripe will have to be scorpions. I’m terrified that one day I’ll find one in my bed as I’ve heard several friends have ! Ugh! So, the precautions I have taken to try to limit these visitors are in place. Number one, no bedskirts! They can crawl up a bedskirt and find their way onto the bed and this is not worth it to me to have my bedding look fashionable! NO WAY! Another thing I’ve done is to use plenty of diatomaceous earth. This is an off white talc-like powder that is made from the fossilized remains of marine Phytoplankton. When sprinkled on a bug that has an exoskeleton , like Scorpions or spiders it compromises their waxy coating so that their innards turn into teeny tiny bug jerky! I never knew how much I love Teeny tiny bug jerky!!! Hah! So I have white powder sprinkled all over my house, around all the baseboards and around all the legs of furniture and of course especially all around the legs of my my bed! I put this wonderful white powder in my closet and all around my shoes, anyplace I think those nasty critters might hide. Its not pretty, but I think its effective! The other thing I recently heard about that scorpions don’t like is those Bounce Dryer sheets! So, I’ve put them in all my drawers and under folded towels and all over in my closet on shelves as well as underneath my dresser and under my bed!

My friend Luana has a theory that I think is totally correct about the critter issue. She and Bond, her hubby, built their house about ten years ago here in Boquete and they have zero scorpions! She thinks its because when you first build a new house on land like ours where there has never been any building you’ve sorta invaded their home and so they are out in force. Their house has been there for awhile and they have been spraying for them for years so they have no problems which critters. When we lived in their house for the ten months we rented it we never once saw a scorpion, so I buy it! I really believe its just gonna take awhile to rid ourselves of these nasty visitors. I’m on it! Don’t you worry! I’m planning to use my outdoor poison every month and I will be looking like I have cocaine spread all over the place in my house!!hah! I don’t care how bad that white powder looks, I just can’t stand the thought of one of those nasty things crawling up onto my bed while I sleep! Oh my gosh! Nope! Its full on warfare and I plan to win! Sorry, to all you critter loving folks, but I stand firm in my feelings about unwanted critters. I realize they were here first and I have no problem with them if they only stay outside, just stay outside!!!

As you know Scotts mom Pat has been here on her first visit. The living room and rec room didn’t quite get finished before she arrived and we didn’t want any work going on inside while she was here. So, she leaves on Monday and next week we will resume the construction on those last two areas of our interior. Which means that all the furniture we currently have in the living room will be moved. We plan to squeeze everything into our two bedrooms while the work is happening. What, you wonder needs to be done? Well…the floor tile is done only to the living room, its finished in the kitchen, the hallway and the two bedrooms and one bathroom. So the living room and the rec room are still unfinished concrete. And the ceilings are not finished, this means you see the zinc and the metal beams that make up the ceiling, the drywall needs to be installed. Which is messy! After the ceilings in those two rooms are finished we will spray texture then finish off the painting, then the tile floors will be installed. I’m not sure how long this will take, but I’m thinking maybe a couple of months. Meanwhile , the sofa and the TV will be stuffed into our bedroom and in the evenings we will hang out in there and watch tv. After the last two rooms are finished then I think Scott may start doing the fabrication of the granite for the countertops in the kitchen and he can start to work on making all the rest of the kitchen and bathroom cabinetry. And for God’s sake Please…Please….pray that he will get to the gosh darn exterior doors and make it so this place is sealed up tight!

May 27th is the official three year anniversary of our arrival here in Panama. We’ve really accomplished a lot in this first three years! I’m writing much of this post in jest, (sorta hah!), about all the little annoyances of living in a construction sight, but I gotta tell ya, even though at times I complain about some of these things, I would not want to be anyplace else and I can’t imagine having done it any other way. Most people I know would never want to go through what we have gone through and would not choose to do things the way we do it. Isnt that the wonderful thing about life? We all get to choose our path and live our lives in such a way that brings us pleasure. None of us will do it exactly the same and we all get to embrace what fills us with happiness. And we get to watch one another and shake our heads and say, “Oh my gosh! They are crazy!” And then we open a bottle of wine or pop open a beer, sit on our terrace together and thank our lucky stars we are who we are and doing what we love! I don’t know about you, but I’m really enjoying my Adventure, I could do without Scorpions and a little less dust, but other than that …shrug, life is truly good!

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

7 responses »

  1. Fabulous Holly!!!!!! I feel your angst with the dust. T and I lived on the Lanai for 3 months while the house was gutted and renovated. Dust everywhere and I GAVE UP cleaning:) Just made dinner on the hotplate in the garage and ate and watched TV on the Lanai. We had a mattress inside to sleep on but again THE DUST!!! Breathing all that dust is not fun! We are now in the house with actual floors and a almost done Kitchen. T and I ove reading all your posts and following your journey! Say Hi to Scott for us!!!!

  2. They are doing a huge new building of to my left and last week they had a huge truck spraying mulch.. so I relate it has invaded everywhere.

  3. I admire you two OMG. I know the dirt isn’t fun, however the scorpions and spiders OH NO that is the Worst part of it all😳😝….at least for your mother it is. If that had been me on that potty well let’s just say everyone in ear sound would have know about it 😱😱😱😱 I am so proud of Pat 🤗😍
    Love Mom 😘😘😘😘
    PS, Is all that power and poison safe for Scruffy🤔

  4. Good stuff, as usual, Holly. Good to see you’re getting moved in and settled. Can’t wait to see the finished product when we get back to Boquete in Sept. Question: Is there any way to make your font bigger? It’s really tough on these old eyeballs. Thanks.

  5. I think your both are very brave.Do you have many snakes? I have to laugh, I look forward to your blog, like its a good book. You make us feel like we’re right there with you. I know you wish we we’re all there with a dust mop. lol. I’m sure everyone would pitch in and help.
    Bless you both,
    Whitney

    • Hola Whitney! Thanks so much for your comment! And…nah, we don’t see many snakes, thank God! I know they’re out there but they don’t really want to be near us either, so no problem! Yep, I’d be glad to put a dust mop in your hand if you were here haha! Life is good, thanks for telling me that your enjoying my blog, makes me smile! 🙂 Cheers!

      • Hi, you made my day, I thought I was going to have to take SNAKE ONE , AT A WILDLIFE PRESERVE. YOU should see some of the things I’ve read, And shame on National Geographic , lol. I say we get one of those vacs that creep along the floor all by themselves , and suck up the spiders, while we sleep.
        I hope the next few years go by fast , so I can come to Panama. Shoving by fears aside, and about to venture into learning a wee bit of Spanish , should be very interesting. Your stove looks awesome. Do you like to cook? It’s a serious stove, great for entertaining. Have a wonderful weekend and week.Im helping you in my heart. Just take it slow it will all come together, For now just enjoy that it’s almost done.
        Be well,
        Whitney
        PS
        I’ve got to learn how to set up a blog. My list have list, my research has research. It would be a hoot.😊

Leave a Reply

