A Family Tragedy

Standard

20130316-113730.jpg

A family Tragedy

Amidst all the hurry and scurry in my life, our family has had a great tragedy, my Mothers husband, Glen passed away yesterday morning in a car accident. I’m sorry to have to tell such sad, sad news but it just felt wrong to continue talking away about all my plans and not stop to say something about this huge loss in our family. My heart aches for my poor mother. She is distraught to say the least. Naturally, she is beside herself with the fear of now being all alone, along with the incomprehensible reality that her life partner is gone forever. She is , of course, in shock. It’s hard for me to be so far away from her at this time, she lives in Fort Worth Texas. When she phoned me yesterday morning (Friday), I was blown away , of course, but also at a complete loss as to what I should do to support her. I have so many wheels in motion at the moment that there was really no conceivable way for me to get to Texas to be with her. Mariah to the rescue! My sweet daughter wanted to be with her grandmother as soon as possible. I’m so blessed to have such a loving and kind daughter who would be willing to take time off work to get on a plane at the last moment to go to her grandmothers aide. My sister, Rora , and I have been estranged for many years , but when I phoned her with the news, all the complicated drama of our own issues just seemed to drop away for the moment, it was so nice. She and our mother also have a very dysfunctional relationship so she was unable to make the trip. Her son Nick got on a red-eye and was by his grandmothers side this morning, what a great kid he is. Mariah arrives this afternoon and my mother will be surrounded by friends and family and will surely feel supported, loved and cared about from all directions.

Living so far away from my mother and Glen, I really never got to spend large amounts of time with Glen in the 16 years ( I’m not sure exactly how long they were together , I’m guessing ) that he and my mother were together . He came to California with my mom several times and stayed at our house, I went to Texas with Mariah when they got married, and Mariah and I visited them only one other time at their home in Texas. But I chatted on the phone with him many times and the last time he visited us was for my last Hollyween party. He was dressed as Hagrid from Harry Potter , he loved those books. Glen was a VERY big guy and he made the perfect Hagrid! Such a gentle spirit , kind, sweet, generous in every way. I gotta say he was the stereotypical “Big Texan”. He had such a big heart and was always texting me about how proud he was of me and Scott and how much he would brag to all his friends at work about us and he never stopped telling me how much he and my mom loved us. Never have I met a man who could talk, and talk, and talk and talk ( you get the idea) Glen was quite the talker! And he could talk about absolutely any subject and with any person who would listen. He seemed to have unending knowledge about everything under the sun. He loved to read and to watch educational shows on tv about anything from hunting and fishing to hot rods and travel and history he had an unquenchable thirst for knowledge and seemed to just soak it all up, only to share it with whoever would listen. Scotts friend Jason got to spend time with Glen once when they were here visiting and he still always asks about how that big Texan is doing. Glen couldn’t help but make an impression on those who met him, not that he was actually aware of or cared much about what others thought of him. Glen lived his life his way and I believe that he was a pretty happy guy. He loved my mom and he was a great son to his aging mother. It is truly a sad and very sudden loss to my mother and to those of us who knew him.

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

22 responses »

  1. Holly, I am so sorry for this sudden, terrible loss in your family. You may recall that I’m a grief counselor. Nothing is more challenging than coming to terms with a sudden death: there is no time to prepare or say goodbye before someone dies, etc.. Perhaps there are grief support groups or individual grief counselors where she lives..(if this is even something she may want to explore)..If there is anything I can do to support you during all difficult time, in the midst of your moving plans, please let me know. -Bonnie

  2. Hi Holly,

    So sorry to hear about the tragic death of your step-father. My thoughts are with you and your family.

    Best,

    Maria

  3. Holly, I am so sorry to hear about your sudden loss, my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family. Glad to hear that Mariah was able to be with her grandmother in her time of need, they must be very close.

    May God be with you through the days ahead…

    Edie

  4. Holly,

    So sorry to hear about your step-father.

    One never knows what life will deal us. Each moment is special, maybe will not have another. My thought and prayers are with you.

    Love,

    Marky

  5. Oh Holly! I am so sorry! Please also give my condolences to Scott.

    Walt
    Sent from my Verizon Wireless BlackBerry

  6. Holly, what a thoughtful tribute to Glen. Your words will surely bring comfort to your mom now and later when she looks back to re read them. As for how to help her? By doing what you do best. Talking to her and sharing her memories. Our condolences to you and your mom.

    Karen and Eric

  7. Dear Holly, my deepest sympathy to you and your family. I am so sorry to hear:( I can imagine how hard it must be for you to not be with your mom at this time. I remember Glen at your last Halloween party. He was a very nice man, sitting lovingly next to your mom when I saw met him. He occurred as very happy and content. I am sending loving support to your mom and to you.

  8. Holly, such shocking and sad news. I’m so sorry to hear that your mother has lost her husband this way. What a great comfort for both of you that Mariah was able to drop everything to go and be with her grandmother now. I hope for your mother that she will find the strength to get through the sad days ahead, and that her broken heart heals so she can come to cherish the memories of the time she and Glen shared together. Stay strong.

  9. Please pass on my empathy to your Mum when you are talking to her. It is always hard when our loved ones depart this world. But I know my two lovely men who have gone ahead look after me, so I know Glen will be there looking after your Mum and will always live in her heart.

  10. Oh Holly! I’m so sorry to hear this news. Bless the next generation, that you children can be there for your mom is such a gift.

  11. Oh Holly, I’m so sorry to hear this. My thoughts are with you and your mom… How wonderful that Mariah was able to fly down. Glenn sounds like a wonderful guy… I hope the memories of the good times are a comfort.

Leave a Reply

