Good people

Standard

20130723-201644.jpg

As soon as we got on our bus for our journey home from Panama City, I realized I had left Scott’s kindle cover and my money belt (empty , thank goodness) in the safe at the hotel! Darn it!! I had taken the cover off Scott’s Kindle because it was too heavy in my purse when we were exploring the city. We usually bring our Kindles because one never knows when a peaceful spot summons you to sit and read for a bit, right? When I went to give him his Kindle on the bus the light bulb went on! @#!#$ . I was sure we would never see the two forgotten items again. Not that they were expensive or irreplaceable but it’s just a bummer to lose something. We quickly looked up the phone number of the hotel and tried calling, hoping someone answered who Habla’s English! No luck on the Habla English but I was able to comprende that the manager, Ana, speaks English and would be there the next day. I called the next day only to be informed that she would return at 4:30. When finally I was able to talk with Ana, I was pleasantly surprised to talk with a very helpful and exceedingly friendly woman who assured me there was no problem, she would gladly mail the items to me . I offered to reimburse the hotel for any expense for the mailing but she refused to let me do that. She said she was happy to help and not to worry about anything but to please come visit again when we are in Panama City. That I will certainly do! The hotel was in a very nice area near many good restaurants and was clean and comfortable. We will be staying at the Hotel Milan again. It’s just so nice when people are nice and helpful and honest. I wanted to share, thought everyone might appreciate this sweet email I just received…

” Good evening Mr. and Mrs. Carter:

I took this afternoon your money belt and your kindle cover to the Mail Boxes Etc. that is closest to the hotel, that is, in Vía Argentina, El Cangrejo . Attached you will find the receipt for the delivery. It will be sent to your Mail Box in Boquete. If there is any trouble, please let me know, so I can contact the girl that receive the items (her name is on the receipt: “Chantal Avila”.)

Best regards,
HOTEL MILÁN”

Nice people rule!!!

20130723-201604.jpg

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

7 responses »

  1. Still enjoying your blog immensely, but this post leads to questions: How goes it with mail/delivery to your home? Can you order from, say Amazon (I’m assuming here that they do foreign delivery)? Can you shop from the net at all? Can people mail directly to you without a go-between service?

    • We have established an address in Miami which receives our U.S. mail that we had forwarded from our previous address in CA, They then forward our mail to the local Mail Boxes Etc. right here in Boquete. We pay a monthly fee for a particular amount of mail by weight. So we have arranged for as much of our U.S. correspondence to be paperless in order to minimize our mail. Any mail that we receive over our monthly amount we will have to pay for it to be shipped from Miami to here. So, yes, we can order things online from the States but it will cost us a bit more for shipping and there is an added import tax on anything valued over $100.00 (including shipping cost). We’ve only been here about 8 weeks so far so it has been working out fine so far. We have informed our friends and family to try not to send greeting cards and such . I hope this answers your question. Cheers!

  2. Holly, you should go to http://thestayathomegringo.blogspot.com/ and add your experience to Chris’ blog under his tab “Panama’s Customer Service Challenge”. It’s a wonderful story and he wants to hear about experiences such as yours.

    Glad you had a great trip and it worked out ok with the lost items! It sounds like Scott might be needing to get himself a little “Man Bag” like some of the hombres de Panameño have! 🙂

    • I’ve read that, but had forgotten!! That’s a great idea !! I’ll do it! And you made me laugh about the man bag because I have pointed that out to him to no avail! He prides himself on being a no-man-bag kinda guy!! Ha! Ha! But I’m gonna keep workin on it cuz you are sooooo right!!! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

