Mi Nuevo Vecino…

Standard

20130915-210156.jpg

I knew this was gonna be a good day this morning when I checked the comments on my blog and found a great surprise.
A neighbor who lives right next door happened across my blog last night and realized we were neighbors when she saw the pictures of the house. What an amazing coincidence! And that’s not even the best part! She’s also a really talented artist who is very involved in the art community here in Boquete!! Ok…all my friends and family in California who know me so well know that I have just met a kindred spirit! She’s been living here in Boquete for about two years and moved from Southern California with her husband. They are loving their life here and have never looked back. Her name is Robyn Child Cole and she works in a type of art called “Encaustic Painting” . It’s a medium that uses melted wax mixed with paint and I’m not completely versed on all the details but there is fire involved as well as resin and lot’s of layers different colors and textures ! It’s a very exciting technique which allows for endless amounts of experimentation and looks like a lot of fun. She, of course has a fabulous art studio right there in here home which looks out at the same amazing view that my patio looks out on. Who couldn’t feel inspired with such a view? She even shares the same hummingbirds in her feeder as I gaze upon all day. Robyn knows all the other neighbors and told me all about this neighborhood including all the animals. In her studio was a very happy, lazy kitty just lounging about on her work table on a comfy towel. As well as a very friendly dog on her front porch who greeted me with tail wagging as I walked up the street. Just like my new dogs, they aren’t really her animals, just neighborhood animals who get lot’s of love, food and affection from anyone who will give it. She knows my two dogs and told me their names, “Big Blue, and Lady”. She introduced me to one of her neighbors, a lovely teenager who’s mother owns a hair salon in town and is also Robyns hairdresser. It was so much fun to hang out in her studio and chat while she worked on her art. I just love learning new things about art and meeting new people so I was in absolute heaven. This Friday she’s hosting a gathering at the library to introduce newcomers to the art league and I will definitely be going. I had gotten an email about the gathering but just hadn’t decided if I would go, now I’m there! I keep using the word ,”coincidence” , but I don’t really think meeting Robyn today was a ‘coincidence’ at all, I think people come into our lives at a particular time for a reason and I really needed to meet someone like her to get a bit of art into my life. I’ve missed my Sculpturistas and my regular gathering of like-minded artistic people. Today I made a connection with not only my first neighbor, but also with an artistic mentor who I look forward to getting to know and hopefully creating art with. Yes, today was a very good day.

20130915-210121.jpg

20130915-210148.jpg

20130915-210203.jpg

About hollycarter184

Life is Good! But it's time for a change, and more adventure! I'd like to share the whole experience of preparing then actually making a reality of expatriating, and moving to a new country. It's an exciting, and slightly scary move full of possibility . I'm looking forward to learning a new language and making new connections with the people who share our spirit of adventure. This blog is my way of continuing my connection with my friends and family in the States. Sooooo here it goes! :)

8 responses »

  1. Very cool. I love the way this kind of “accidental” connection happens time after time in a small community. Same thing here in Abiquiu (New Mexico). I lived in Los Altos for 35 years and have fewer connections there than I have here after only 4. And hermit that I am, I haven’t sought social opportunities. They just happen. (If I’m really longing for solitude, I have to fly back to CA!)

  2. ¡Qué maravilla! ¿Cómo está tu español? Tengo que ponerse al día con el resto de la clase – cinco años, creo.

    The first story we read was about a jealous, newly married husband who beheaded his dog, then his horse, then his wife. The class decided it was too difficult for us – even for the most advanced students. It was written around 1320 BC – very old Spanish, no one uses any more. I will give it a try and see when my patience run out. I am so happy for you that you found a kindred spirit. Chris

  3. Not happy with my neighborhood animals … Rooster ate my one and only red strawberry and the deer ate the rose buds! Sometimes I wish they would stay at their home instead of mine.

    Sunnie Todd sunnietodd@aol.com H 1 (408) 251-7287 C 1 (408) 666-6645

  4. I am so excited for you 🙂 I looked Encaustic Art up and it looks like a good new ADVENTURE in the art world for you 🙂 Love Mom

  5. Hey Holly,
    We saw you yesterday when we were dropping Robyn and John off at their house. I wondered where in Alto Lino you guys had moved. We will look for you at Habla Ya this morning. We are settling in at our new home in Alto Jaramillo. We will have you guys come up here soon.
    Peace,
    Bruce and Nicole

Leave a Reply

